Conservative's ForumConservative's Discussion ForumsConservative News Forum › Chicago teachers strike
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Chicago teachers strike (Read 1,795 times)
Lily003
CF Presidents Club

Conservative's Forum

Chicago teachers strike
10/17/19 at 03:01:39
Print Post  
Here we go again on this merry-go-round.

What tweaked me about the story was that they would keep the schools open so KIDS COULD GET SOMETHING TO EAT.  And that they would have a place to go.  I am NOT for any child going hungry.  However, those that "qualify" for "free" school food are usually also getting food stamps.  So no excuse for not feeding them.  Last I checked, schools are not responsible for child care either.

I guess they need a lot more money because they have to have pregnancy care, child care, and all sorts of social services.  I graduated a Chicago Public School in a class of 700 with ONE pregnancy.  The issues are not money, they are social.  Maybe class size is relevant.  I am so sick of hearing about my home town like this.

https://apnews.com/fe67b0cad7a94047a50c4bc21d9b82d1

Lily003   Huh

IP Logged

Nox
CF Vice Presidents Club

Old and Grumpy

Re: Chicago teachers strike
Reply #1 - 10/17/19 at 03:05:51
Print Post  
Lily003 wrote on 10/17/19 at 03:01:39:
Here we go again on this merry-go-round.

What tweaked me about the story was that they would keep the schools open so KIDS COULD GET SOMETHING TO EAT.  And that they would have a place to go.  I am NOT for any child going hungry.  However, those that "qualify" for "free" school food are usually also getting food stamps.  So no excuse for not feeding them.  Last I checked, schools are not responsible for child care either.